Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs – AWSC


The Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs (AWSC) hosted its 45th Annual Meeting and Convention in Green Bay, Wisconsin, on March 28-30, 2014. Joining the 750+ members as special guests were Representatives Mary Czaja and John Nygren, along with Senator Rick Gudex. These legislators were recognized for their strong support of snowmobiling in Wisconsin. Also present was Cathy Burrow, DNR Snowmobile Program Grant Manager.

A video message from Governor Scott Walker discussing the value and economic impact of snowmobiling was presented to the group, in which the Governor congratulated the AWSC and others for their recent, successful efforts to modify snowmobile program funding and strengthen clubs.

The AWSC has over 26,000 family memberships in nearly 600 clubs throughout Wisconsin. It is these club members that volunteer each year to develop, sign and maintain the nearly 25,000 miles of groomed snowmobile trails that are open to the public. These trails would not be possible without the generosity of the thousands of landowners across the state who allow the trails to cross their property.

During the Annual Meeting, the AWSC Executive Board members for 2014-2015 were elected. They are President Dave Newman, Vice President Lori Heideman, Treasurer Andy Malecki, Secretary Sue Smedegard and Executive Director Sam Landes.

(Photo, left to right – Sue Smedegard, Secretary; Lori Heideman, Vice President; Andy Malecki, Treasurer; Dave Newman, President; Sam Landes, Executive Director)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.